New winds are blowing in the NBA circles. Everything changes and some measures had to be taken in notice. The new rules have been approved by the NBA Board of Governors. The are changing the timeout format, halftime and free throws administration.

From this season on, the max number of timeouts per game will drop from 18 to 14. This also means that during the last 3 min. of a game the 2 teams will be limited to 2 timeouts each instead of the situation now that allowed 3 per team in the last 2 minutes. “These changes will help us fulfill our goal of improving game flow and pace of play. Fewer stoppages and less time without action, especially at the end of a game, will further enhance the viewing experience for our fans.” said Byron Spruell, NBA President, League Operations.

The details about rule modifications for timeouts are the following: each team will have seven timeouts per game; all four periods will have two mandatory timeouts; all team timeouts will be 75 seconds; each team will have two team timeouts per overtime period; each team can enter the fourth period with up to four team timeouts; each team will be limited to two team timeouts after the later of (1) the three-minute mark of the fourth period or (ii) the resumption of play after the second mandatory timeout of the fourth period. To insure a more continuous flow of the game, the following changes  have been made regarding game flow: referees will assess a delay-of-game violation; halftime will last 15 minutes for all games.

Also it has been approved to move the trade deadline from the Thursday after the NBA All-Star Game to 10 days before the All-Star Game. With this measure teams will be able to settle their rosters before the All-Star break and avoid the coherency issues that result from players joining new teams.

Source: here